Kebbi Assembly deputy speaker, 5 other principal officers resign

The Deputy Speaker, Alhaji Muhammad Usman, and five other Principal Officers of the Kebbi State House of Assembly resigned from their appointments on Thursday.

The resignation was made known in a letter signed by the Press Secretary to the assembly, Shehu Muhammad-Yauri, and made available to newsmen in Birnin Kebbi.

“Six principal officers of Kebbi state house of assembly, from the deputy speaker, have resigned their appointments,” it said.

The statement added that 20 out of the 24 members of the assembly had signed the letter for the resignation of the principal officers.

Meanwhile, no reason for their resignation was mentioned in the statement.

Although, a letter dated 26 January 2023, and signed by Acting Clerk, Suleman Shamaki, had invited Gov. Atiku Bagudu to appear before the house on Jan. 27 in order to explain how he expended over N18.7 billion loan approved by the house on 18 October 2021.


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *