Nigerian-born Kemi Badenoch makes new UK PM’s Cabinet

British Prime Minister, Liz Truss, has appointed Nigerian-born, Kemi Badenoch as a member of her team in a cabinet reshuffle after assuming office on Tuesday.

Badenoch was appointed as the Secretary of State for International Trade and President of the Board of Trade.

Her appointment was announced via a tweet posted to the verified Twitter page of the UK Prime Minister, @10DowningStreet, on Tuesday.

Truss’ leading cabinet members reflect her right-wing ideology. For the first time in the history of the United Kingdom, no white men will occupy any of the four “great offices of state”: prime minister, Treasury, foreign office and home affairs.

The post read, “Kemi Badenoch MP @KemiBadenoch has been appointed Secretary of State for International Trade and President of the Board of Trade @TradeGovUK #reshuffle”
Other appointments made on Tuesday and approved by Queen Elizabeth II, as contained in a press release by 10 Downing Street include:
– Rt Hon Dr Thérèse Coffey MP – Secretary of State for Health and Social Care/Deputy Prime Minister
– Rt Hon Kwasi Kwarteng MP – Chancellor of the Exchequer
– Rt Hon James Cleverly MP – Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs
– Rt Hon Suella Braverman QC MP – Secretary of State for the Home Department
– Wendy Morton MP – Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury (Chief Whip)
– Rt Hon Ben Wallace MP – Secretary of State for Defence
– Rt Hon Brandon Lewis CBE MP – Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice
– Rt Hon Nadhim Zahawi MP – Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Minister for Intergovernmental Relations and Minister for Equalities
– Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP – Lord President of the Council, and Leader of the House of Commons
Lord True CBE as Lord Privy Seal, and Leader of the House of Lords
– Rt Hon Jake Berry MP – Minister without Portfolio
– Rt Hon Alok Sharma MP – COP26 President
– Rt Hon Jacob Rees-Mogg MP – Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
– Rt Hon Simon Clarke MP as Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities
– Chloe Smith MP – Secretary of State for Work and Pensions
– Rt Hon Kit Malthouse MP – Secretary of State for Education
– Ranil Jayawardena MP – Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
– Rt Hon Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP – Secretary of State for Transport
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *