Yaba LCDA holds annual Spelling Bee competition

As Education remains the best legacy that can be left for the future generation, the Education Department of Yaba LCDA, held it’s annual Spelling Bee Competition.

The Executive Chairman of Yaba LCDA, duly represented by the Chairperson Mrs Oluwakemi Racheal Omiyale congratulated participants for being worthy to represent their respective schools.

“May I use this medium to commend and simultaneously appreciate the initiator of this competition, Senator (Mrs.) Oluremi Tinubu (OON), who birthed this noble idea to bring out the best among pupils in primary and secondary schools in Lagos State. It should go beyond the competition but seen as avenue to refresh mind of pupils and create healthy rivalry among schools.

“In furtherance, English Language as an official language in Nigeria cannot be undermined for its importance in every area and sector. Research conducted in 2018 stated that English Language has displaced Spanish language which was the leading language in the world.

“By inference we cannot be complacent but try as much as possible to improve the standard of this globally accepted Language.”

Representatives from public primary and secondary schools in Yaba LCDA were invited for the competition, out of which three emerged as winners for primary school and three for secondary school categories respectively.

The 1st position in the primary category was Ayinde Abdulrahman of Oluwole Nursery and Primary School Akoka, 2nd position was Divine Agbasi of Olimo Memorial Primarry School, and 3rd position was Animashaun Abdulwasiu of Herbert Macauley Primary School.

In the secondary schools category, Chiamaka Adindum of Wesley Girls’ Secondary School emerged the 1st position winner, 2nd position was Ojaimo Micheal of Aje Comprehensive Junior High School, while Onaneye Tanitoluwa of Eletu Odibo Secondary School emerged the 3rd position winner.

The Head of Education Department, Mrs. Akinlolu gave the vote of thanks.

Present at the event were the Council Manager, Mr. Lai Giwa and other members of staff.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *